University of California, San Diego

A joint committee of Regents, faculty, students, alumni and staff has been appointed by University of California President Richard C. Atkinson to advise him on the selection of a new chancellor for the San Diego campus.
The 17-member committee will be asked to review a list of candidates which is expected to be submitted early next year. It is anticipated that a recommendation for San Diego's sixth chancellor will be forwarded to the Regents next spring.
The vacancy in the post resulted from the appointment of Atkinson as President of the University in October.
Regents on the joint advisory committee are Ward Connerly, John G. Davies, Meredith J. Khachigian, Leo S. Kolligian and David S. Lee. Board Chairman Clair W. Burgener and President Atkinson will serve as ex-officio members of the committee.
Faculty representatives from UCSD are Thurgood Marshall College Provost Cecil W. Lytle; Physics Professor LuJeu Sham and Planetary Physics Professor J. Freeman Gilbert. Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Professor Francisco Ayala of UC Irvine and Family Practice Professor Klea Bertakis of UC Davis will also serve on the committee.
Student representatives are UCSD Associated Students President Naomi Falk and UCSD Graduate Association President Steve Dubb. Representing alumni will be former Alumni Regent Peter Preuss. Representing UCSD staff will be Management Services Officer C. David Scronce and representing the UCSD Foundation will be President Dr. Monroe Trout.
During the early stages of its work, the joint committee will meet on the San Diego campus with representatives of the faculty, students, staff, alumni and community leaders to solicit their views.
UC San Diego, which this year was ranked among the top research universities in the United States by the National Research Council, has an enrollment of 17,264 students and an annual budget of nearly $1 billion.
## ## ##