University of California, San Diego

SUBJECT: Alumni Association Award Recipients for 1996
I am pleased to announce the recipients of the 1996 Alumni Association Awards for Excellence. David Goeddel`72, a leader in the biotech industry, has been selected to receive the Outstanding Alumnus Award. As one of the first scientists hired by Genentech, he and his team produced Genentech's first five products, including the heart attack drug TPA. Goeddel is the first alumnus with an undergraduate degree from UCSD elected to the National Academy of Sciences. He is an elected Fellow of both the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the American Academy of Arts. He also is the honored recipient of the Eli Lilly Award and Scheele Medal. Michael Greif, who received his M.F.A. in directing from UCSD in 1985, will be presented the Professional Achievement Award. Artistic Director of the La Jolla Playhouse since the 1995 season, Greif staged the critically-acclaimed Therese Raquin, which won four Drama-Logue Awards. Cited by the New York Times for making a "sensational debut" at Joseph Papp's New York Shakespeare Festival Public Theater, he directed a startling production of Machinal (1990) for which he won an Obie Award. Greif is currently directing the 1996 Pultizer Award winning musical RENT on Broadway.
Thomas O'Neil, Ph.D. `65, Professor of Physics, will be honored for Distinguished Teaching. A universally respected member of the Physics Department, he is considered one of the world's leading plasma physicists. He is a superb teacher and inspiring mentor in the classroom, who has trained over a dozen graduate students and post--docs. With his instrumental help and guidance, many of them have pursued successful and distinguished careers in physics. As departmental Vice Chair for Education from 1988-1992, Professor O'Neil spearheaded a very successful overhaul of the graduate and undergraduate course curriculum.
Charlie Robins will receive the Distinguished Service to the University Award for his exemplary contributions as a member of the UC San Diego Foundation Board of Trustees; California Environmental Technology Center Advisory Board; IR/PS Export Access Advisory Board; and SIO's Executive Committee of the Centennial Fund. In 1991, Robins established The Robins Family Fund to fund innovative research at SIO.
The recipients will be honored on June 15 at the Awards for Excellence Gala to be held at Geisel Library. We welcome participation by all faculty, staff and students. Please call the Alumni Relations office at 534-3900 for your invitation.
Bernie Farrow Executive Director