University of California, San Diego

June 14, 1996
SUBJECT: Search Committee for Senior Vice Chancellor-Academic Affairs
It is my pleasure to announce the composition of the Search Committee for Senior Vice Chancellor--Academic Affairs.
Professor David R. Miller has graciously agreed to serve as Chair of the Search Committee. The membership is as follows:
David R. Miller, Professor/AMES -- CHAIR Karen Andrews, MSO/Linguistics Francine D. Berman, Professor/CSE
Paul M. Churchland, Professor/Philosophy Michelle DeDeo, Graduate Student/Mathematics
Darrell D. Fanestil, Professor/Medicine-Nephrology Lawrence S. Goldstein, Professor/Pharmacology Peter A. Gourevitch, Dean/IR&PS
Ramon Gutierrez, Professor/Ethnic Studies David K. Jordan, Provost/Warren College Susan Kirkpatrick, Professor/Literature Douglas MacDougall, Professor/GRD-SIO Thomas M. O'Neil, Professor/Physics Carol Plantamura, Professor/Music
Paul A. Price, Professor/Biology Coleen Sabatini, Undergraduate Student/AS President Jerry A. Schneider, Dean & Professor/SOM & Pediatrics
The Committee will conduct a nationwide search for a candidate at the full-professor level, who should be scholar of distinction with an international reputation. A record of effective academic administration and leadership skills beneficial to UCSD's mission are required.
The position will be formally advertised within the next few weeks. However, nominations and applications will be received henceforth by:
Professor David R. Miller, Chair
Sr. VCAA Search Committee
University of California, San Diego
c/o Patricia Wong, Human Resources
9500 Gilman Drive, Dept. 0922
La Jolla, CA 92093-0922
Robert C. Dynes Marjorie C. Caserio Sr. Vice Chancellor-Academic Affairs Interim Chancellor and Chancellor-designate