University of California, San Diego



April 4, 2000


SUBJECT:    Reminder - All University Commencement Ceremonies - June 17, 2000

Dear Colleagues:

I am writing to remind you that the All University Commencement will be held on Saturday, June 17, and to encourage you to participate in the faculty procession that will precede our graduating students. Faculty participation in recent years has been very disappointing; I hope this year we will be able to make a more respectable showing to honor our graduating students. May I also remind you that this year's keynote speaker is Maya Angelou, whose appearance will help make the ceremony particularly noteworthy.

Those of you who have not already ordered your regalia from the Bookstore and who wish to march in the faculty procession should do so no later than 3:30 p.m., Monday, April 10. Please identify yourself as a member of the "Faculty Commencement Processional Group". There is no cost to you for the rental fee.

Orders may be placed as follows:

--by phone:   Extension 4-3786 or 2-1066
--by FAX:      534-0410
--by Email:    cleach@ucsd.edu
--Electronic Orders:   http://www-bookstore.ucsd.edu/capandgown

The following information must be provided at the time an order is placed:

--name, phone number, email address
--cap/hat size (or head circumference in inches)
--degree title (e.g., Ph.D., M.D., M.F.A., M.A., etc.)
--name and location of institution where degree was conferred,
            (e.g., Yale, New Haven, CT)

Faculty who plan to participate in BOTH the School of Medicine's June 4 graduation ceremonies AND the June 17 academic procession should retain their caps and gowns after the SOM commencement.

Detailed information concerning tickets and time and location for assembly will be provided at a later date. I hope you will elect to be present for the celebration in honor of all campus graduates, and I look forward to seeing all of you there on June 17.

                                                       Robert L. Parker, Chair
                                                       Academic Senate, San Diego Division