University of California, San Diego


October 16, 2003


SUBJECT:  October 28, 2003 Representative Assembly Meeting

Dear Colleagues:

I hope you will attend our first meeting of the 2003-04 year scheduled for Tuesday, October 28 at 3:30 p.m., in Garren Auditorium, Room 1105 in the Basic Science Building. On this occasion, Acting Chancellor Marsha A. Chandler will make the traditional annual address to the Senate, and there are a number of matters for the Assembly's consideration. The Notice of Meeting (agenda) and all pertinent documents may be found on the Senate's Web page at:


One item of business will be consideration of nominations for one vacancy on the Committee on Committees. I direct your attention to page 10 of the agenda, which reflects the status of nominations to date. Nominations may also be made from the floor; however, should you wish to nominate a colleague, please make sure that the individual is willing to serve if elected.

We will also choose two members of the Representative Assembly to join the Senate Council. The Senate Council oversees the functioning of the Division, determines the agenda for meetings of the Representative Assembly, and is empowered to take action for the Assembly in emergencies. It is important that you examine the list of all representatives before the meeting of the Assembly so that well considered nominations can be made at the meeting. The Senate Council membership and list of representatives begins on page 11 of the agenda.

The Committee on Academic Information Technology will present a revision to Bylaw 192 governing the committee's composition, the Graduate Council will propose enactment of Regulation 704 governing the requirements of the M.Ed. degree, and the Faculty of Revelle College will seek approval to amend Regulation 605 governing the College's academic requirements. We will also receive the annual reports of several of the 2002-03 standing committees of the Academic Senate, adopt the revised Bylaws of the Faculty of Revelle College, and adopt memorial resolutions for our deceased colleagues Harmon Craig, Margaret W. Dilling, Jules A. Fejer, Nicholas A. Halasz, John F. Hansbrough, Walter P. Heller, and Richard Lettau.

For instructions on how to access the Web site or to obtain a paper copy of the Notice of Meeting, please contact the Academic Senate Office at extension 4-3640. If your preference is to receive a paper copy of the Notice of Meeting, your name will be placed on a Senate mailing list. To request that your name be place on this list, please contact the Academic Senate Office at the above number.

I look forward to seeing you on the 28th.


                                                Jan B. Talbot, Chair
                                                Academic Senate, San Diego Division

cc: Members of the San Diego Division