University of California, San Diego


February 5, 2004


SUBJECT:    Call for Nominations - Distinguished Faculty Research Lecturer

The Academic Senate Faculty Research Lecturer Award recognizes Colleagues whose research has made a significant contribution to the advancement of knowledge. Each year the Senate selects two members of the faculty or staff to receive this prestigious award, one from the Arts, Humanities, or Social Sciences, and one from the Sciences. The recipients will be asked to present a lecture on a topic of their choice, be honored by the faculty in a reception following the lecture, and receive a $1000 honorarium.

Nominations for this noteworthy prize are hereby solicited. Nominations may come from individuals, from Department Chairs, from Deans, from anyone who recognizes a deserving candidate. Multiple nominations from a single nominator or department are welcome. The process is not at all onerous. Please submit:

(1) a short curriculum vitae,
(2) a bibliography (such as submitted in the usual review process),
(3) a statement of approximately two-pages summarizing the nominee's
     field of knowledge, important contributions, and ability to present
     a lecture with appeal to a broad audience.

A brief statement about the probable focus of the nominee's lecture would be helpful.

Nominations will remain active for a period of two years.

The Committee on the Faculty Research Lecturer is charged with recommending the award recipients to the Representative Assembly. We must complete the review process and make our recommendation by April 27, 2004. Therefore, we ask you to forward your nominations to the Academic Senate Office (c/o Sandi Pierz), Mail Code 0002, no later than Friday, March 19, 2004.

Katja Lindenberg, Chair
Committee on Faculty Research Lecturer

Past Award recipients are:



Bernard Rands (Music)
Theodore Friedmann (Pediatrics)
Louis A. Montrose (Literature)
Michael L. Freedman (Mathematics)
Patricia S. Churchland (Philosophy)
George N. Somero (SIO)
Bruno H. Zimm (Chemistry)
Freeman Gilbert (SIO)
Arend Lijphart (Political Science)
Elizabeth Barrett-Connor (Family & Preventive Medicine)
Laura Schreibman (Psychology)
Martin Rudwick (History)
Jonathan Singer (Biology)

TWO AWARDS PER YEAR, 1996-present

Richard Madsen (Sociology)
Roger Tsien (Pharmacology & Chemistry/Biochemistry)
Russell F. Doolittle (Biology & Chemistry/Biochemistry)
Michael Schudson (Communication)
Steven Shapin (Sociology)
Larry R. Squire (Psychiatry, Neurosciences & Psychology)
Lu Jeu Sham (Physics)
Melford E. Spiro (Anthropology)
Mark Ellisman (Neurosciences)
David Noel Freedman (History)
Jorge A. Huerta (Theatre)
Ronald Graham (Computer Science and Engineering)
Michael Davidson (Literature)
Paul Dayton (SIO)