University of California, San Diego


July 29, 2004


SUBJECT:    Resignation of Frantisek Deak as Dean of the Division of Arts and Humanities

Dear Colleagues:

After a decade of distinguished service as Dean of the Division of Arts and Humanities, Frantisek Deak has announced his decision to step down as Dean effective September 1, 2004, and to retire from his Professorship in the Department of Theatre and Dance at that time.

Frantisek joined the UCSD faculty in 1974, and served as Chair of the Department of Theatre and Dance from 1991 through 1994, when he was appointed as the Division's second Dean. Under his leadership, the Division of Arts and Humanities has seen the development of new undergraduate and graduate degree programs, including the popular Interdisciplinary Computing and the Arts Major (ICAM), the joint Ph.D. program in Drama and Theatre with UC Irvine, and a tri-campus Ph.D. program in Classics offered with UC Irvine and UC Riverside. Frantisek was the driving force behind the creation of the UCSD Humanities Center in 1996, an initiative that provides a forum for interdisciplinary thinking about global issues and attracts scholars from around the world. His guidance, vision, and sound judgment will be missed not only by faculty, staff, and students in the Division of Arts and Humanities, but by his colleagues throughout the campus. I would like to take this opportunity to express my gratitude to Dean Deak for his dedicated service to UCSD and the Division of Arts and Humanities and to wish him every success in the years ahead.

A search for the next Dean of Arts and Humanities will be initiated in the Fall. I am pleased to announce that Georgios Anagnostopoulos, Professor of Philosophy and the current Associate Dean of Arts and Humanities, has graciously agreed to serve as Interim Dean until Frantisek's successor is identified. Georgios has also served as Acting Dean during periods of Frantisek's sabbatical leave, and I am confident he will provide outstanding leadership during the transition.

Marsha A. Chandler
Acting Chancellor