University of California, San Diego


September 21, 2004


SUBJECT:    New Postdoctoral Scholar Appointment Titles, Benefits Programs, and Sick-Leave and Time-Off Policies Effective January 1, 2005

Comprehensive new policies for Postdoctoral Scholars have been adopted by the University of California and are being implemented in two stages. The first stage took effect July 1, 2003, and covered policies on Postdoctoral Scholar appointments, percent time, duration of time, salaries, annual reviews, grievances, and corrective action.

The second stage is being implemented January 1, 2005, and covers new appointment titles, new benefit plans, and new sick-leave and time-off policies.

The new benefits plans are UC-wide plans that offer a comprehensive package of benefits tailored to the needs of Postdoctoral Scholars and their families. While many of the benefits closely match the benefits offered through the UC Faculty/Staff benefit plans, there are some differences. Coverage includes medical, dental, vision, life, accidental death and dismemberment, short-term disability, and voluntary long-term disability insurance.

Open enrollment for the new plans is October 1 through November 1, 2004. Orientations for Postdoctoral Scholars and campus administrators have been scheduled to provide more details on the benefit plans and the open enrollment process. In addition, beginning this week, information packets will be sent to all Postdoctoral Scholars.

The new sick leave policy provides that Postdoctoral Scholars will continue to have 12 days of sick leave per year but changes the administration from an accrual system of earning one day per month to being eligible at the outset of an appointment for 12 days sick leave immediately if the Scholar has a 12-month appointment. The new time-off policy states that Postdoctoral scholars are expected to take time off each academic year in the intersession and recess periods (which constitutes about four weeks, excluding University holidays) between the beginning of Fall Quarter and the end of Spring Quarter. If, however, the Postdoctoral Scholar's training and research program involves work during these periods, it is expected that the mentor will approve equivalent time off at another mutually agreeable time. Postdoctoral Scholars will no longer be eligible for vacation.

New appointment titles are effective January 1, 2005, to implement the new benefits programs and the sick-leave and time-off policies. All new postdoctoral appointments are to be made in these appointments effective January 1, 2005. All current Postdocs whose principal appointment is Postgraduate Researcher (title code 3240) are not eligible for the new Postdoctoral Scholar Benefits Plan or for the new sick-leave and time-off policy. All individuals whose principal appointment is Visiting Postgraduate Researcher (title code 3370) prior to January 1, 2005, are being given the choice of remaining in the 3370 title or moving to the Postdoctoral Scholar - Employee title (3252) to become eligible for the new Postdoctoral Scholar Benefits Plan and the new sick-leave and time-off policies. All 3370's must complete and submit an election form by November 1, 2004. All current Postdocs who have Fellowships or Traineeships will move to the new title codes on or before January 1, 2005.

Departmental and Research Unit Postdoctoral Scholar Coordinators are asked to forward this email to all postdoctoral scholars within their department and to departmental financial and other staff.

Additional information is available from your department Postdoctoral Coordinator and at the OGSR website. (www.ogsr.ucsd.edu). Postdocs are encouraged to visit the website of Garnett-Powers and Associates, the benefits plan broker, for further details and for toll-free assistance numbers to call

Richard Attiyeh
Vice Chancellor for Research
Dean of Graduate Studies

cc:  Chancellor
       Vice Chancellors
       Divisional and School Deans
       SOM Dean for Academic Affairs Ries
       SOM Dean for Scientific Affairs Dixon
       SIO Deputy Director Orcutt
       SIO Deputy Director Collins
       SOM Chief of Staff Jackiewicz
       Assistant Vice Chancellor Collins
       Assistant Vice Chancellor McGraw
       Assistant Vice Chancellor Davis
       Assistant Vice Chancellor Larson
       Associate Controller Brainerd
       Benefits Manager Edwards
       Payroll Manager Trinidad
       Campus Counsel Parode
       Ombudsperson Bruner