University of California, San Diego


February 22, 2005


SUBJECT:    Call for Nominations for Academic Senate Distinguished
Teaching Awards

The Committee on Distinguished Teaching of the San Diego Division of the Academic Senate invites you to submit nominations for the 2005 Academic Senate Distinguished Teaching Awards in the following categories:

* Distinguished Teaching Award, Senate Members
* Barbara and Paul Saltman Distinguished Teaching Award, Non-Senate Members
* Barbara and Paul Saltman Excellent Teaching Award, Graduate Students

Up to five members of the Academic Senate, three non-Senate members, and three graduate students will receive awards this Spring. Awards for Senate members are $1,500 each (distributed as $500 annually for three years), the Saltman Awards for Non-Senate Members are $1,000 each, and the Saltman Excellent Teaching Awards, Graduate Students are $500 each. Funds for the awards and the reception are generously provided by the Chancellor, the Senior Vice Chancellor-Academic Affairs, the Vice Chancellor-External Relations, and the donors to the Barbara and Paul Saltman Endowment Fund.

The Committee asks that you nominate students and faculty in your department, program, or college. Letters of support should be addressed to the Academic Senate Committee on Distinguished Teaching and submitted via the Chair or Director of the nominee's primary department or program. The Chair or Director formally nominates the candidate(s) and prepare(s) the dossier(s) for submission to the Committee. Nominations addressed to the Committee on Distinguished Teaching, Academic Senate (c/o Ashley Stevens), 0002, must reach the Senate Office by March 15, 2005.

The file accompanying each nomination should outline the qualities that identify the candidate as a distinguished teacher, should contain as much supporting material as is available, and should document the nominee's contributions to the educational mission of the University. Nominating guidelines and an itemized checklist can be found at http://www-senate.ucsd.edu.

The Awards Ceremony and Reception, held at the Faculty Club, is an opportunity to convey the importance placed on teaching by academic departments and programs and to underscore the high quality of teaching at UCSD. Your participation in the nomination process and the ceremony provides deserved recognition of excellence in teaching. Your department/program is also honored, as each recipient's name will bear the citation "Distinguished Teaching Award" in the UCSD General Catalog.

Thank you for taking the time and energy to honor teaching among your faculty colleagues and graduate students. If you have questions, please contact me or any member of the Committee.


Janet Smarr (Theatre & Dance),
Chair, Committee on
Distinguished Teaching

Robert L. Parker (SIO/IGPP),
Vice Chair

Richard E. Friedman (Literature)

Mark J. Machina (Economics)

Keiko Nomura (MAE)

Jose N. Onuchic (Physics)

Jean Y.J. Wang (Molecular Biology)

Ted McCombs
(Undergraduate Student Representative)

Julia Hamstra
(Graduate Student Representative)