University of California, San Diego


September 27, 2005


Subject:    San Diego’s Best Doctors

I want to congratulate our superb UCSD clinicians for a stellar showing in this year’s San Diego Magazine “Top Doctors” survey. More than 60 UCSD faculty physicians are named in the magazine's October 2005 special section. The physicians chosen for this honor were selected by their San Diego County Medical Society peers as the doctors they would personally recommend to family and friends, or seek care from themselves. To be acknowledged in this way by one’s colleagues is a very high honor indeed.

We can all be proud to work in an institution that is dedicated to outstanding patient care, education, research, and public service. At UCSD Medical Center, thanks to the expertise and commitment of our outstanding faculty and staff, we see the power of academic medicine every day.

Please join me in applauding the UCSD physicians selected for this well-deserved recognition, and for their extraordinary contributions and leadership in improving the health of our patients and the community at large:

Michael Albo, William Auger, Madelynn Azar-Cavanagh, David Bazzo, Kurt Benirschke, Jonathon Benumof, Ulrika Birgersdotter-Green, Daniel Blanchard, William Bugbee, Lynette Cederquist, Theodore Chan, Richard Clark, Jody Corey-Bloom, John Daly, Pamela Deak, Anthony DeMaria, John Drummond, Steven Edelman.

Peter Fedullo, Greg Feld, Gary Firestein, Paul Gamble, Steven Garfin, Michael Goldbaum, Barry Greenberg, Lawrence Hansen, James Harrell, Jeffrey Harris, Kenneth Herbst, David Hoyt, Dilip Jeste, Ken Kaushansky, Thomas Kelly, John Kelsoe, Don Kikkawa,Thomas Kinney, George Leopold, Tony Lopez, Pat Lyden, Margaret McCahill, Gita Mehta, Ravindra Mehta, Thomas Moore.

Charles Nager, William Norcross, Terence O'Grady, Robert Pedowitz, Bretten Pickering, Joe Ramsdell, Robert Resnik, Carol Salem, Armelia Sani, Thomas Savides, David Schanzlin, Joseph Schmidt, Joseph Sherger, Stephen Shuchter, George Shumaik, Martin Stein, Robert Steiner, Gary Vilke, Mark Wallace, Lisa Wastila, Noel Weidner, Robert Weisman, and Sidney Zisook.

Edward W. Holmes, M.D.
Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences
Dean, UCSD School of Medicine