University of California, San Diego


January 27, 2006


SUBJECT:    Call for Nominations - Faculty Research Lecturer

The Academic Senate Faculty Research Lecturer Award recognizes colleagues whose research has made a significant contribution to the advancement of knowledge. Each year the Senate selects two members of the faculty or staff to receive this prestigious award, one from the Arts, Humanities, or Social Sciences, and one from the Sciences. Each recipient is asked to present a lecture on a topic of his or her choice, is honored by the faculty in a reception following the lecture, and receives a $1,000 honorarium.

You are invited to nominate a colleague for this noteworthy prize. Nominations must be accompanied by a statement not to exceed two pages that makes the argument for the nomination, a curriculum vitae, and a bibliography. It is critical that the two-page statement fully documents the nominee's

* field of knowledge

* important research contributions and where the contributions stand in relationship to his or her peers and discipline(s); where possible, please identify specific papers, books, or treatises that epitomize the nominee's contribution

* ability to deliver a provocative lecture having broad audience appeal

* a brief statement about the probable focus of the nominee's lecture

Faculty Research Lecture Award recipients since 2001-05 are listed below. A complete list can be found at

Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences

Page A. DuBois (Literature)
Charles L. Briggs (Ethnic Studies)
David Noel Freedman (History)
Michael Davidson (Literature)
Jorge A. Huerta (Theatre)


Siavouche Nemat-Nasser (MAE)
Paul K. Dayton (SIO)
Mark Ellisman (Neurosciences)
Martin F. Kagnoff (Medicine)
Ronald Graham (Computer Science & Engineering)
The Committee on the Faculty Research Lecturer is charged with recommending the award recipients to the Representative Assembly. We must complete the review process and make our recommendation by mid-April. Therefore, we ask you to forward your nominations to the Academic Senate Office either by campus mail (Attention: Suzanne Atchley, 0002) or email (satchley@ucsd.edu) no later than Friday, March 17, 2006.

Michael Schudson
Committee on Faculty
Research Lecturer