University of California, San Diego


June 5, 2008


SUBJECT:    Sandra Daley to Succeed Cecil Lytle as Chair of
Preuss School Board

I am pleased to announce that Sandra Daley, M.D., Associate Chancellor and Chief Diversity Officer at UC San Diego, has been named chair of The Preuss School Board of Directors, effective July 1, 2008. She will succeed Cecil W. Lytle, the current Chair and Professor of Music, who will retire from the University on June 30, 2008.

A pediatrician and graduate of UC San Diego’s School of Medicine, Dr. Daley is leader in recruiting Latino/a and African-American students and faculty to UCSD. As Assistant Dean of Diversity and Community Partnerships since 1995 and a member of the School of Medicine faculty since 1990, Dr. Daley has successfully developed and implemented academic enrichment programs that help disadvantaged middle, high school, community college and undergraduate students pursue health and science careers. In School of Medicine programs, such as the Hispanic Center of Excellence, Dr. Daley has worked to retain and recruit students and faculty from underrepresented Hispanic ethnic groups.

Dr. Lytle currently serves as Associate Director of the Center for Research on Educational Equity, Assessment and Teaching Excellence (CREATE). He was instrumental in the establishment of The Preuss School, and has served as Board Chair since The Preuss School was founded. Dr. Lytle joined the music faculty at UC San Diego in 1974, and was chair of the Department of Music until his appointment as Provost of Thurgood Marshall College in 1988. He is an internationally recognized pianist, with a repertoire that ranges from jazz to classical. Dr. Lytle retired as Provost of Marshall College in 2005.

We are grateful for Dr. Lytle’s leadership and look forward to the continued success of The Preuss School under the direction of its new Chair of the Board, Dr. Daley.

Marye Anne Fox