CAMPUS NOTICE

 

OFFICE OF THE VICE CHANCELLOR -
RESOURCE MANAGEMENT & PLANNING

OFFICE OF THE VICE CHANCELLOR -
HEALTH SCIENCES & DEAN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE

2009 HEART WALK PLANNING COMMITTEE

JULY 6, 2009


ALL ACADEMICS AND STAFF AT UC SAN DIEGO

SUBJECT:    2009 AHA Heart Walk – “UCSD Great Strides in Heart Care”

Every year, UCSD organizes a team of employees and friends (aka “Team UCSD”) to walk in the American Heart Association (AHA) Heart Walk. Once again, this year we are the Volunteer T-shirt Logo Sponsor” which means that ALL of the Heart Walk volunteers will be wearing t-shirts with the UCSD logo prominently displayed. Also, UCSD will again staff the Health Screening booth and will be providing various health screenings.

The *Team UCSD* goal is to recruit 650 walkers, with a fundraising goal of $95,000. Team UCSD has just begun its fundraising efforts…we need your help to succeed!

*Why?*

* Heart disease is the number one killer of American men AND women

* UCSD received $1.5 million in AHA research awards in 2008-2009 (total awarded to San Diego County organizations…$3.0 million)

* Great opportunity to get some fresh air, exercise and raise money for a worthy cause all at the same time!

* T-shirt! Raise $50.00 online and receive a "Team UCSD" t-shirt on bank day to wear day of walk and show team unity!

*How?*

* Team Captain (recruit 10 walkers x $150/walker = $1,500 goal) - the Campus/SOM/SSPPS Team Captain Kick-off meeting is on July 15th on main campus so please join us!!! (more details to follow) - As a Team Captain, you will receive plenty of fundraising guidance from our AHA representative, Sandi Matranga and your Entity Leader!

* Walker ($150 goal)

* Supporter (contribute what you can to a walker)

*When?*

* Fundraising is already underway … Sign-up to be a Team Captain or Walker and use “Kintera”, an online tool that makes it easy to ask for donations! http://www.sdheartwalk.org

* Saturday, September 19 at 7:00 a.m. in Balboa Park

Please contact Lisa Murphy (3-6323), Brendan Kremer (7-7268), Patrice Lock (2-3855), or your “Entity Leader” to be a Team Captain, Walker or Sponsor. . . . please consider joining "Team UCSD" today!

Campus/SOM/SSPP: Patrice Lock plock@ucsd.edu

Hillcrest: Suzanne Reed sreed@ucsd.edu

Hillcrest: Zach Schlagel zwschlagel@ucsd.edu

Thornton: Frieda Kennedy fkennedy@ucsd.edu

Thornton: Scotti Grant msb001@ucsd.edu

Kearny Mesa: Mark James mkjames@ucsd.edu

Medical Group/Gibbs: Smmi Haddad shaddad@ucsd.edu

Moores Cancer Center: Kate Trulock ktrulock@ucsd.edu


Gary Matthews
Vice Chancellor-

David Brenner
Vice Chancellor-

2009 UCSD Heart Walk
Planning Committee