May 23, 2019


SUBJECT:    Retirement of The Preuss School UC San Diego Principal, Scott Barton

Following two decades of service to The Preuss School UC San Diego, Principal Scott Barton has announced his retirement, effective July 1, 2019.

Established in 1999, The Preuss School UC San Diego is a charter middle and high school on the UC San Diego campus for low income students who strive to become the first in their families to graduate from college. Barton is a founding faculty member of Preuss and served as the school’s dean of students for nine years before becoming principal in 2008.

During his time at the school, Preuss has grown from 150 students in grades 6-8 to more than 800 students in grades 6-12. Graduates from The Preuss School are consistently accepted to four-year colleges and universities at a rate of more than 90 percent, and almost 100 percent go on to some form of higher education.

Under his leadership, The Preuss School has become one of the top-ranked high schools in the nation. For three years running, Preuss has been named the best high school in San Diego County by U.S. News and World Report. This year, U.S. News also ranked it as the 7th best high school in California and the 14th best charter school in the nation.

Prior to joining The Preuss School, Barton worked for 18 years with the San Diego Unified School District. He began his teaching career at Hale Junior High teaching math and social studies, and also taught math and computer literacy at Wangenheim Junior High. He served as a resource teacher and ASB advisor at Hoover High School prior to joining the Preuss faculty.

Scott Barton has played a key role in transforming the lives of the students who have walked The Preuss School corridors. He has been a dedicated and passionate leader, mentor and advisor who has worked tirelessly to ensure the success of Preuss and its remarkable students. He will be deeply missed. A reception in honor of Principal Barton and his accomplishments is planned for May 30. For more information, please contact Kandy Mahaffey at (858) 822-2282.

Pradeep K. Khosla

Elizabeth H. Simmons
Executive Vice Chancellor