January 9, 2020

ALL ACADEMICS AND STAFF AT UC SAN DIEGO (including UC San Diego Health System)

SUBJECT:    Excellence in Stewardship Award Call for Nominations

The UC San Diego Foundation’s Stewardship Committee will present the 8th
Annual Excellence in Stewardship Awards in June 2020. Amid the
excitement of achieving the $2 billion milestone for The Campaign for UC
San Diego, I invite you to recognize faculty and staff who work beyond
the scope of their job descriptions to engage our donors, volunteers,
and external partners. By sharing the immense impact this community of
support has on UC San Diego, faculty and staff are helping fulfill our
promise to transform the student experience, our campus, and,
ultimately, the world.

Any UC San Diego employee, Foundation Board Trustee, or volunteer may
nominate individuals for the Staff category or Faculty category. Please
note that employees whose job description intrinsically requires the
stewardship of donors are not eligible for nomination, including
Advancement staff, University Communications and Public Affairs staff,
vice chancellors, deans, and other senior administrators or campus

You may access the nomination form and additional information here: Please submit nominations
for the 8th Annual Stewardship Awards to Christy Bliss via email at or through campus mail at MC 0937 no later than
February 3, 2020. Awardees selected by the UC San Diego Foundation’s
Stewardship Committee will be notified in March 2020 and recognized at
the UC San Diego Foundation’s annual dinner in June 2020. Questions
regarding the award program may be directed to Christy Bliss at or (858) 822-6604.

The 7th Annual Excellence in Stewardship awardees in 2019 were:

• Dr. Shu Chien, Professor of Bioengineering and Medicine and Director
of the Institute of Engineering and Medicine
• Dr. Brian Keating, Professor at the Center for Astrophysics and Space
Sciences and Associate Director of the Arthur C. Clarke Center for
Human Imagination
• Jesse De Wald, Staff Director of the Envision Arts and Engineering
Maker Studio.

Thank you for taking the time to submit your nominations for the 8th
Annual Stewardship Awards. Your participation celebrates the unique
contributions of employees who build lasting relationships with UC San
Diego supporters and who propel our community toward a brighter future.

Pradeep K. Khosla
President, UC San Diego Foundation