University of California, San Diego

February 5, 1999
SUBJECT: Faculty Research Lecturer - Call for Nominations Each year the Academic Senate selects two members of the faculty to receive the Faculty Research Lecturer Award -- one in the Arts/Humanities/Social Sciences, and one in the Sciences. The recipients of this prestigious award will each receive a $1,000 honorarium, be asked to present a lecture on a topic of his/her choice, and be honored by the faculty in a reception following the lecture. Past award recipients have been:
Bernard Rands (Music)	1983-84
Theodore Friedmann (Pediatrics)	1984-85
Louis A. Montrose (Literature)	1985-86
Michael L. Freedman (Mathematics)	1986-87
Patricia S. Churchland (Philosophy)	1987-88
George N. Somero (SIO)	1988-89
Bruno H. Zimm (Chemistry)	1989-90
Freeman Gilbert (SIO)	1990-91
Arend Lijphart (Political Science)	1991-92
Elizabeth Barrett-Connor (F&PM)	1992-93
Laura E. Schreibman (Psychology)	1993-94
Martin Rudwick (History)	1994-95
Jonathan Singer (Biology)	1995-96
Richard Madsen (Sociology)	1996-97
Roger Tsien (Pharmacology & Chem/Biochem)	1996-97
Russell F. Doolittle (Biology & Chem/Biochem)	1997-98
Michael Schudson (Communication)	1997-98
You are invited to nominate a colleague whose research has made a
significant contribution to the advancement of knowledge to receive this award. Nominations must be accompanied by a one-page statement that makes the argument for the nomination, a curriculum vitae and a bibliography. It is important to document where the contributions of the nominee stand in relationship to those of his or her peers. Where possible, identify specific papers, books, or treatises that epitomize the nominee's contributions. Please comment also on the ability of the nominee to make his/her contributions accessible to a broader audience, in writing and orally.
The Committee on the Faculty Research Lecturer is charged with selecting
the award recipients. We must complete the selection process and make a
recommendation to the Representative Assembly by May 25, 1999. Therefore,
we ask you to forward your nominations to the Academic Senate (0002) no
later than Friday, April 16, 1999.
Joan Heller Brown, Chair
Committee on Faculty Research Lecturer