December 14, 2016


SUBJECT:    Search Committee for Executive Vice Chancellor Academic Affairs

I am pleased to announce the search committee to identify candidates for the position of Executive Vice Chancellor Academic Affairs. Jeffrey Elman, former Dean of the Division of Social Sciences and Professor of Cognitive Science, will serve as Chair and I will be the co-chair of the search. Other members of the Search Committee are: LIHINI ALUWIHARE, Professor, Geosciences Research Division
DANIEL AROVAS, Professor, Physics
GERRY BOSS, Professor, Medicine
AMANDA CHAVEZ, Chair, UC San Diego Staff Association
TODD COLEMAN, Professor, Bioengineering
CRISTINA DELLA COLETTA, Dean, Division of Arts & Humanities
JUAN GONZALEZ, Vice Chancellor Student Affairs
JOHN HAVILAND, Professor, Anthropology
JOHN MOORE, Chair, Council of Provosts and Provost, John Muir College
BECKY PETITT, Vice Chancellor Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion
KIT POGLIANO, Professor and Chair, Molecular Biology
VALERIE RAMEY, Professor, Economics
CHRISTINA SIGURDSON, Professor, Pathology
ROBERT SULLIVAN, Dean, Rady School of Management
DEAN TULLSEN, Professor and Chair, Computer Science and Engineering
GABRIELE WIENHAUSEN, Faculty Director, Teaching + Learning Commons
DANIEL JUAREZ, President, Associated Students
TBD, Graduate Student Association representative

The Committee will conduct an international search with the assistance of consultant David Bellshaw, Vice President, Isaacson, Miller.

We are seeking a strong academic leader who is an accomplished scholar and academic administrator with a proven record of leadership in academic planning and development; commitment to and success in achieving institutional diversity goals; significant experience in establishing collaborative, interdisciplinary initiatives that bring faculty, academic staff and students from multiple disciplines together to creatively address issues affecting teaching and research; strong commitment to shared governance; a record of achievement in working with a diverse academic community; recognized expertise in establishing and strengthening international collaborations; proven track record of success in strategic planning, budgeting and resource management, and faculty recruiting; and an established record of active participation as a creative leader in attaining institutional academic fundraising goals.

I invite you to submit nominations in confidence to me (, Chair Elman ( or Mr. Bellshaw (

Pradeep K. Khosla